Résumé des faits



1. La plainte est introduite par le Forum of Conscience, une ONG des droits de l’homme de Sierra Léone au nom de 24 militaires qui ont été exécutés le 19 octobre 1998 à Freetown, Sierra Léone.
2. Le plaignant prétend que les 24 militaires ont été jugés et condamnés à mort par une Cour martiale pour des rôles qu’ils auraient joués dans le Coup qui a renversé le Gouvernement élu de Tejan Kabah.
3. La communication allègue en outre que le procès de ces militaires devant la Cour martiale était caractérisé par le vice de forme et la violation des obligations de l’Etat de Sierra Léone à l’égard de la Charte Africaine.
4. Il est ajouté que cette Cour martiale, qui a jugé et condamné les victimes ci-dessus mentionnées, ne leur a laissé aucun droit d’appel contre la condamnation ou la sentence devant une juridiction supérieure et cela, en violation des dispositions de la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples.
5. Le requérant prétend que l’exécution publique des 24 militaires, le 19 octobre 1998, après leur avoir refusé le droit d’appel, constitue aussi un déni arbitraire du droit à la vie énoncé par la Charte Africaine.

Plainte




Le plaignant allègue la violation des articles suivants de la Charte africaine: articles 1, 4, 7.1.a and 7.1.d.

Procédure

6. La communication a été reçue par le Secrétariat le 24 octobre 1998.
7. A sa 25ème session ordinaire tenue à Bujumbura, Burundi, la Commission a reporté l’examen de la communication à sa 26ème session ordinaire.
8. Le 11 mai 1999, le Secrétariat de la Commission a notifié cette décision aux parties.
9. A sa 26ème session ordinaire tenue à Kigali, Rwanda, la Commission a décidé d’être saisie de cette communication.
10. Entre les 14 et 19 février 2000, lorsque la délégation de la Commission a effectué une mission de promotion en Sierra Leone, la question de la plainte a été soulevée auprès des autorités compétentes gouvernementales, notamment le Procureur Général de Sierra Léone.
11. Le 2 mars 2000, le Secrétariat de la Commission a informé les parties de la décision de la Commission.
12. Le 11 avril 2000, le plaignant a répondu à la demande indiquée ci-dessus.
13. A sa 27ème session ordinaire tenue en Algérie, la Commission a examiné le cas et l'a déclaré recevable. Elle a demandé aux parties de lui fournir des arguments de fond sur ce cas.
14. La décision précitée a été communiquée aux parties le 12 juillet 2000.

Action requise

La Recevabilité

15. La Commission prend note du fait que la plainte est introduite au nom de personnes déjà exécutées. A cet effet, la Commission convient qu'il n'existe pas de recours locaux que le plaignant peut formuler. Cependant, même si une telle possibilité existait, l'exécution des victimes a définitivement forclos un tel recours.

Le Fond

16. Le plaignant allègue que la décision de la cour martiale ne peut faire l'objet d'un appel et constitue par conséquent une violation des droits des victimes à un procès équitable.
17. Les faits, tels que soumis par le plaignant, rapportent que les 24 militaires ont été exécutés publiquement après avoir été privés de leur droit d'appel devant une juridiction supérieure. Dans sa Résolution sur le Droit à un Procès Equitable et à l'Assistance Juridique en Afrique, la Commission a noté lors de l'adoption de la Déclaration et des Recommandations de Dakar que:
“ Dans de nombreux pays africains, des Tribunaux militaires et des Cours spéciales existent parallèlement aux institutions judiciaires ordinaires. L'objectif des tribunaux militaires est de déterminer les délits de nature purement militaire perpétrés par le personnel militaire. Dans l'exercice de cette fonction, les tribunaux militaires doivent respecter les normes de procès équitable. ”
18. La Commission note que le procès en question est de nature purement militaire, c'est à dire qu'il est fondé sur les rôles qu'ils auraient joués dans le coup ayant renversé le Gouvernement élu. La Commission doit cependant affirmer que le déni des droits d'appel des victimes devant les juridictions nationales compétentes, dans un délit aussi grave que celui-ci, est une violation des normes de procès équitable attendues de ces cours. L'exécution des 24 militaires est par conséquent une violation de l'article 7(1) (a) de la Charte. Ceci est d'autant plus grave que la dite violation est irréversible.


L’article 7(1) (a) de la Charte stipule :
“ Toute personne a… le droit de saisir les juridictions nationales compétentes de tout acte violant les droits fondamentaux qui lui sont reconnus… ”
19. Le plaignant allègue la violation de l’article 4 de la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples qui prévoit que :

“ La personne humaine est inviolable. Tout être humain a droit au respect de sa vie… Nul ne peut être privé arbitrairement de ce droit. ”
20. Le droit à la vie est la base de tous les autres droits. C’est la source d’où découlent les autres droits, et toute violation injustifiée de ce droit équivaut à une privation arbitraire. Ayant constaté que le procès des 24 militaires constitue une violation de la procédure juridique telle que garantie par l’Article 7(1) (a) de la Charte, la Commission déclare leur exécution comme étant une privation arbitraire de leurs droits à la vie prévus à l’article 4 de la Charte. L'article 4 de la Charte stipule :

“ La personne humaine est inviolable. Tout être humain a droit au respect de sa vie et à l’intégralité physique et morale de sa personne. Nul ne peut être privé arbitrairement de ce droit. ”

Bien que cette procédure ne puisse ramener les victimes à la vie, elle n’exempte pas le Gouvernement de Sierra Leone de ses obligations prises en vertu de la Charte.
21. La Commission note que les autorités compétentes de la République de Sierra Léone n’ont pas répondu à sa requête concernant les informations complémentaires et les arguments relatifs à la recevabilité et au fond du cas. La Commission a pris note des explications données par le Ministre de la Justice et Garde des Sceaux à la mission de la Commission à savoir que le règlement militaire n'autorisait pas l'appel. Par ailleurs, aux yeux de la Commission, la Charte constitue la base pour constater les violations. Les textes régissant la cour martiale, pour autant qu'ils n'autorisent pas le recours en appel, violent la Charte. Cependant, la Commission a noté avec satisfaction que la loi a été amendée suite à la mission de celle-ci en Sierra Léone pour la mettre en conformité avec la Charte.

Décision



Pour les raisons ci-dessus évoquées, la Commission



Déclare le Gouvernement de Sierra Léone en violation avec les articles 4 et 7.1.a de la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples.

Recommande au Gouvernement de Sierra Léone de conformer sa législation à la Charte.



Fait à Cotonou, Bénin, le 6 novembre 2000.

Summary of Facts

1. The complaint is submitted by the Forum of Conscience, a Sierra Leonean Human Rights NGO, on behalf of 24 soldiers who were executed on 19th October 1998 in Freetown, Sierra Leone.
2. The Complainant alleges that the 24 soldiers were tried and sentenced to death by a Court Martial for their alleged roles in the coup that overthrew the elected government of President Ahmed Tejan Kabah.
3. The communication alleges further that the trial of the soldiers by the Court Martial was flawed in law and in violation of Sierra Leone’s obligation under the African Charter.
4. It is also alleged that the Court Martial that tried and convicted the above- mentioned victims allowed no right of appeal against conviction or sentence to a higher tribunal and was therefore in breach of Article 7 (1) of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights.
5. The complainant contends that the public execution of the 24 soldiers on 19th October 1998 after being denied right of appeal to a higher tribunal also amounts to an arbitrary deprivation of the right to life contrary to Article 4 of the African Charter.

Complaint




The Complainant alleges violation of Articles 1, 4 and 7 (1) (a) and 7(1) (d) of the African Charter.

Procedure

6. The communication was received at the Secretariat on 24th October 1998.
7. At its 25th Ordinary Session held in Bujumbura, Burundi, the Commission postponed consideration of the communication to its 26th Ordinary Session.
8. On 11th May 1999, the Secretariat of the Commission notified the parties of this decision.
9. At its 26th Ordinary Session held in Kigali, Rwanda, the Commission decided to be seized of the communication.
10. Between 14th and 19th February 2000, when the Commission’s delegation visited Sierra Leone on a promotional mission, the subject of the complaint was taken up with relevant government officials, including the Attorney General of Sierra Leone.
11. On 2nd March 2000, the Secretariat of the Commission informed the parties of the decision taken by the Commission at its 26th Ordinary Session.
12. On the 11 April 2000, the complainant responded to the indicated herein. 1.

13. At its 27th Ordinary Session held in Algeria, the Commission examined the case and declared it admissible. It requested the parties to furnish it with arguments on the merits of the case.
14. The above decision was communicated to the parties on 12th July 2000.

Law

Admissibility

15. The Commission takes note of the fact that the complaint was filed on behalf of people who were already executed. In this regard, the Commission held that there were no local remedies for the complainant to exhaust. Further that even if such possibility had existed, the execution of the victims had completely foreclosed such a remedy.

Merits

16. The Complainant alleges that the decision of the court-martial is not subject to appeal and is therefore a violation of the victims' rights to fair trial.
17. The facts as submitted by the Complainant disclose that the 24 soldiers were executed publicly after being deprived of the right of appeal to a higher tribunal. In its Resolution on the Right to Fair Trial and Legal Assistance in Africa, the Commission had, in adopting the Dakar Declaration and Recommendations, noted thus:

"In many African countries Military Courts and Special Tribunals exist alongside regular judicial institutions. The purpose of Military Courts is to determine offences of a purely military nature committed by military personnel. While exercising this function, Military Courts are required to respect fair trial standards."
18. The Commission notes that the trial in issue was that of a purely military nature, i.e. for their alleged roles in the coup that overthrew the elected government. The Commission is however constrained to hold that the denial of the victim's right of appeal to competent national organs in a serious offence as this is falls short of the requirement of the respect for fair trial standards expected of such courts. The execution of the 24 soldiers without the right of appeal is therefore a violation of Article 7(1) (a) of the Charter. This is more serious given the fact that the said violation is irreversible. Article 7(1) (a) of the Charter states:

Every individual shall have… the right to an appeal to competent national organs against acts violating his fundamental rights…
19. The Complainant alleges a violation of Article 4 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights which provides that:

Human beings are inviolable. Every human being shall be entitled to respect for his life… No one may be arbitrarily deprived of this right.
20. The right to life is the fulcrum of all other rights. It is the fountain through which other rights flow, and any violation of this right without due process amounts to arbitrary deprivation of life. Having found above that the trial of the 24 soldiers constituted a breach of due process of law as guaranteed under Article 7(1) (a) of the Charter, the Commission consequently finds their execution an arbitrary deprivation of the right to life provided for in Article 4 of the Charter.
Although this process cannot bring the victims back to life, it does not exonerate the Government of Sierra Leone from its obligations under the Charter.
21. The Commission notes the failure of the competent authorities of the Republic of Sierra Leone to respond to its request for additional information and arguments on the admissibility and merits of the case. It is noted that the Minister of Justice and Attorney General explained to the Commission’s mission referred to above that the regulations of the military did not allow for the right of appeal. However, before the Commission, the African Charter is the yardstick for determining violations. The rules and regulations governing court martial, to the extent that they do not allow the right of appeal, offend the Charter. But it is noted with satisfaction that the law has been amended, subsequent to the mission to Sierra Leone, to bring it into conformity with the Charter.

Holding



For the above reasons, the Commission



Holds a violation of Articles 4 and 7(1) (a) of the African Charter.

Cotonou, Benin, 23rd October to 6th November 2000.

Footnotes

1. This paragraph was not originally in the English language version; it was translated from the French language version