Les Faits

1. La communication concerne le statut juridique des homosexuels au Zimbabwe. La loi Zimbabwéenne condamne les rapports sexuels en privé entre des hommes adultes consentants. Selon le plaignant, cette interdiction est actuellement appliquée au Zimbabwe, encouragée par les déclarations du Président de la République et du Ministre de l'Intérieur contre l'homosexualité.

La Plainte

2. La communication dénonce la violation de la Charte Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples en ses articles 1, 6, 8, 11, 16, 20, 22 et 24. Il met aussi le doigt sur l' article 60 de la Charte qui stipule que la Commission s'inspire des legislations internationales des droits de l'homme et des peuples; et à l'annexe B de la communication, le plaignant attache le point de vue du Comité des Droits de l'Homme dans le cas de M. Toonen c/Australie. Dans ce cas, le Comité etait d'avis que la condamnation de l'homosexualité à Tasmania n'etait pas raisonnable et constituait une ingérence arbitraire dans la vie privée de M. Toonen tel que prévu par le Pacte International sur les Droits Civils et Politiques en son article 17, alinéa 1 .

Décision



La communication a été classée sans suite du fait de son retrait par l'auteur.
Incorrect key file for table './CLB_LIVE/Documents_stats.MYI'; try to repair itSQL:select * from Documents_stats where doc_id = 138 and lang_id = "2" and _date = "2014-12-19" limit 1 File:/srv/datadisk01/var/www/caselaw.ihrda.org/httpdocs/lib/DB.php Line: 29

Summary of Facts

1. The communication concerns the legal status of homosexuals in Zimbabwe. Domestic law of Zimbabwe criminalises sexual contacts between consenting adult homosexual men in private. According to the Complainant, this prohibition is currently being enforced in Zimbabwe, encouraged by statements against homosexuals by the President and by the Minister for Home Affairs.

Complaint

2. The communication complains of violations of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights, namely Articles 1, 6, 8, 11, 16, 20, 22 and 24. The Complainant points to Article 60 of the Charter which states that the Commission shall draw inspiration from international law on human and peoples’ rights and as Annex B to the communication the Complainant has attached the views adopted by the Human Rights Committee in the case of Toonen vs. Australia. In this case the Committee was of the view that the criminalisation of homosexuality in Tasmania was unreasonable and interfered arbitrarily with Mr Toonen’s right to privacy under Article 17, paragraph 1 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR).

Holding


The communication was withdrawn by the author. The Commission saw no need to continue with it.
Incorrect key file for table './CLB_LIVE/Documents_stats.MYI'; try to repair itSQL:select * from Documents_stats where doc_id = 138 and lang_id = "1" and _date = "2014-12-20" limit 1 File:/srv/datadisk01/var/www/caselaw.ihrda.org/httpdocs/lib/DB.php Line: 29